US and partners agree to create Trans-Pacific Partnership

After protracted negotiations, on 5 October 2015 US, Japan, Australia, Canada, Chile, Mexico, Peru, Vietnam, Malaysia, Singapore, New Zealand and Brunei signed agreement on creation of the Trans-Pacific Partnership – a new economic block which includes 40% of the world economy.

While TPP is based on an economic agreement, it has crucial geopolitical implications. Against the background of China’s attempt of strategic expansion, TPP constitutes an important move by US, Japan and their partner nations to consolidate their position in the face of China’s active foreign policy.

TPP member nations:

TPP members


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s